writing time

On WritingScheduling writing time can be tricky.

On the one hand, it’s good to have a plan. If you don’t set aside time for writing, you’re not likely to make time. Furthermore, if you don’t guard your writing time, all kinds of other things are waiting in the wings to snatch it away.

Important things, like time with family and friends, working out, reading, cleaning the house, and just relaxing for the sake of your own sanity. And not so important things, like YouTube videos of cats in pirate outfits.

But writing is also a creative process. You can’t really force it. If you try to write just because it’s 4:00 on Tuesday, that may not always work.

What to do?

Well, I can’t tell you what works definitively, but I can tell you what works for me. I juggle multiple writing projects pretty much all the time. I do that because there’s a lot I want to write about, but also because it gives me options.

When it’s time to write, I’m not locked into a single subject, voice, or story. I can pick. That may sound like a small thing, but it’s not.

It means I can work on something lighthearted or something serious. It means I can start something new or pick up where I left off. It means I can sink time into something I plan to publish, or something that’s just for me.

It doesn’t matter so much that you’re producing something ‘marketable’ all the time as that you write consistently.

Writing a lot is a big part of writing better. If you slack just because you don’t feel like writing, or because you got caught up in cat videos–clearly, I have a problem–then you’re not a writer.

You’re someone who wants to be a writer. There’s a world of difference.

Be a writer. Write, and write often.

About Ash Martin
Ash Martin writes dark fantasy and horror, has a thing for classic monster legends, Nordic mythology, coffee, and sarcasm, and is currently working on multiple books.

Leave a Reply

