respect

The Goblin King

On Sunday, the world lost a talented, creative artist.

While I can’t (and won’t) claim to be the world’s biggest David Bowie enthusiast, I can honestly say several of his songs are among my favorites. Perhaps more impressive, I find his music to be wildly inspiring. There’s so much energy in it. I was saddened to hear of his passing.

In the days since, I’ve been thinking about him and about others who’ve moved on. I’ve also been thinking about the global community of artists. We’re all in this together, you know. Regardless of medium, culture or perspective, those of us who aspire to create art are after the same thing. Namely, the creation of something greater than ourselves.

To his much deserved credit, Bowie unquestionably succeeded there.

Of course, artists are an opinionated bunch. It’s not unusual for us to critique one another. In many ways, that’s a good thing. I welcome criticism of my own work as I genuinely believe that’s the only way my writing will improve. But I also think there are times when we, as artists, lose sight of the fact that as long as our efforts are authentic, differences in technique, taste or tone don’t invalidate the work of another. Said another way, those of us who produce something with real heart should stand by one another.

You don’t have to be an avid Bowie fan to mourn his death. You only have to be someone who recognizes insane levels of talent. Someone who understands the hard work that goes into building a legacy. Someone who appreciates art in all mediums.

I’ve been thinking about something else, too. When I was a kid, Labyrinth was one of the films that absolutely captivated me. It still does. Sure, it’s campy, but it’s also dark and different and totally outside the norm. (Gosh, why would something like that appeal to someone like me?) Bowie’s performance was fun and makes the entire thing worth watching. I think I’m overdue a viewing.

We lost one of the great ones this week, my friends. The Best of Bowie is available on Spotify, as are a number of his other albums. Give ’em a spin.

All hail the Goblin King.

About Ash Martin
Ash Martin writes dark fantasy and horror, has a thing for classic monster legends, Nordic mythology, coffee, and sarcasm, and is currently working on multiple books.

Leave a Reply

