lucky

On WritingWe’re just two days away from Thanksgiving, and it’s only appropriate that I take stock of some of what I have to be thankful for. Last year, I focused almost exclusively on my wonderful wife, who you know as Nimue. She’s still at the top of my list, but this year I want to use this space to say thank you to an unlikely friend: my publisher, Natalie.

I say unlikely because I assume most writers aren’t fortunate enough to be able to call their publishers friends, but she is most certainly one of mine. Admittedly, I don’t have any real experience on which to base my assumptions. I’m in the process of getting my first book published, so it’s not like I’ve done this before.

As Yoda almost certainly never said, “My first rodeo this is.”

Bad Star Wars jokes aside, I seriously doubt there are too many writers who are as likely to geek out about gaming with their publisher as they are to talk shop about grammar, editing, and promotion. That’s the sort of relationship I have with mine. When we get on the phone, the conversation can veer off in any number of random directions because, get this, we like talking to each other.

Which is cool.

The book isn’t out yet. We’re not even done editing it, and then there’s the cover art to nail down, a release date to set, and all kinds of promotion to sort out. But we’re both enjoying the process, and I can’t imagine feeling more comfortable handing my baby off to someone else.

For that, I am most certainly thankful.

About Ash Martin
Ash Martin writes dark fantasy and horror, has a thing for classic monster legends, Nordic mythology, coffee, and sarcasm, and is currently working on multiple books.

Leave a Reply

