think you can

Think You Can

I both love and hate that quote.

I hate it because it’s overused. It’s become trite. It’s the kind of thing money-grubby sales managers scrawl on white boards before sales meetings. It makes me want to rolls my eyes and reply with something bitingly cynical. I get annoyed every time I hear someone repeat it because I’ve heard it so much.

And because it’s true.

That’s the worst of it. No matter how much people over-apply it, there’s still an enormous amount of truth in it, especially as it applies to writing. Which, of course, is why I love it.

I’m not saying self-confidence can overcome a complete lack of talent or preparation or real effort. That would be insane. But assuming you have some degree of aptitude, the degree to which you believe in yourself will dictate significant elements of the outcome.

I know. That sounds like the moral at the end of an after school special. Roll your eyes if you want. I’d roll mine, too. Just be sure when you’re done with all that eye rolling you consider the truth of it. While there are a ton of other things you can and should to do better yourself as a writer, the one step you simply cannot avoid is believing you’re up to it.

See? Now you love it and hate it, too.

About Ash Martin
Ash Martin writes dark fantasy and horror, has a thing for classic monster legends, Nordic mythology, coffee, and sarcasm, and is currently working on multiple books.

Leave a Reply

