repost: the emerging shaming culture

On WritingIn the category of ‘better than I can say it’, I’d like to repost something by my talented friend, Cynthia Robertson.

Without sounding preachy, she manages to cut to the heart of an unsettling trend: “What bothers me is a tendency to shame people for expressing their truth. The truth of their experience as they experienced it.”

I could not agree more.

If you find that tidbit interesting, please click through and read the full post. And don’t forget to comment on Cynthia’s site. Comments from readers mean more to us writers than you might know.

The Emerging Shaming Culture
Cynthia Roberston  |  cynthiarobertson.wordpress.com

A few weeks ago I was dithering around on FB, a place I mostly haunt without posting, as I am curious (nosy) about people’s lives, but a somewhat private (secretive) person. One of my friends posted this by a former MFA program instructor. I read it and thought, yeah, that’s probably pretty much what it’s like; I bet one must read a ton of poorly written stuff: how awful must that be?…

Read more…

About Ash Martin
Ash Martin writes dark fantasy and horror, has a thing for classic monster legends, Nordic mythology, coffee, and sarcasm, and is currently working on multiple books.

2 Responses to repost: the emerging shaming culture

  1. Thank you, Adam!
    And you’ll be happy to know I updated your link on my website’s list of favorite blogs – not that my site is a hotbed of referrals, but it was about (waaaaay past) time.
    You’ve really poured yourself into this one, and it shows.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

