big news

This both is an isn’t an ‘On Writing’ post.

Certainly, in one way it very much is. But it’s not about the craft or experience of writing. It’s not inspiration or a challenge. It’s not even a rant. It’s something else entirely.

As of yesterday at 6:23 pm, I’m on my way to being an actual published author. I signed a contract with SpiderLily Publishing.

It’s imperative that I say a few of things:

  1. I’m ecstatic.
  2. While getting a book published is cool (like, amazingly cool), and while there’s a sense in which publication is a goal, it’s not the goal. Getting published does not make one a writer. Writing does.
  3. Publication is not a guarantee of ‘success’ as defined by income or popularity. (Not that those things really matter to me. They don’t.) I don’t anticipate movie deals or a windfall of money. I’d welcome both, but I expect neither.
  4. Did I mention I’m excited?

I’ll tell you more about my publisher (and her kick-ass book) in the coming weeks. Also, you’ll see a few changes on my website as I’ve elected to publish under my initials rather than my pen name. I’ll be updating the site accordingly. Fear not, though. I’m still me, irreverence and all, and Vye is still by my side, as always.

There you have it. My big news. Hopefully this makes my shorter posts for the last couple of weeks make more sense. Between ironing this out and juggling a sudden increase in freelance work (good thing, that), I’ve been busy.

I’ll tell you more when I can. Thanks to everyone out there reading my stuff and commenting on it. Your encouragement means the world to me.

About Ash Martin
Ash Martin writes dark fantasy and horror, has a thing for classic monster legends, Nordic mythology, coffee, and sarcasm, and is currently working on multiple books.

4 Responses to big news

  1. Jenni says:

    Congrats!! Very exciting news…..

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Julie says:

    Congrats!!!! So happy for you!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

