what you can give

On WritingMy throat feels like I’ve been gargling sand paper. My head is on the verge of exploding. I keep looking at the wall behind me half expecting to see skull shrapnel embedded in the drywall. One minute I’m cold, like I’ve been standing in the rain, and the next minute I can’t seem to find enough layers.

In short, I’m sick.

But today is Tuesday and I owe you an ‘On Writing’ post. Here it is. Give what you can give today. For me on this particular day, it’s not much. Just these few words. I don’t really feel like writing more, and honestly, that’s okay. Maybe tomorrow I’ll pound out thousands, but not today.

Each day you write, do what you can that day. If your schedule blows up, or you’re under the weather, or you encounter epic writer’s block, that’s okay. You can’t do more than you can do, but you can sure as hell do less. Commit to giving what you can each day.

That’s what I’ve got, folks. I hope the rest of you are flu-free, having fun, and scribbling away. I’m going to go find something hot to drink.

 

Sick

About Ash Martin
Ash Martin writes dark fantasy and horror, has a thing for classic monster legends, Nordic mythology, coffee, and sarcasm, and is currently working on multiple books.

2 Responses to what you can give

  1. P. C. Zick says:

    Here’s to feeling better, dear Dex. You’re a trooper for putting anything out there at all!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

