the scary part

Pennywise

This year is the year. I’ll finally be making my first attempts to contact agents and see if I can actually get a book published. It scares the shit out of me.

When I started working on my first book, my greatest fear was that I didn’t have it in me to write something that long. I’d written stories, but a novel? Whoa. That’s big time, or so I thought. But I plunged in, allowing the story to pull me along and running with it. Actually, more often than not, running to catch up to it.

Point is, I wrote it. In fact, I’m almost done with the first draft of my fourth book, and I’m working on a fifth. But because I’m stupidly ambitious and I have the attention span of a squirrel with ADD, I still haven’t put the finishing touches on any of my books to the degree that I’m ready to showcase them. That’s what the next few months hold in store for me. Getting my babies ready for the slaughter.

I’m a realist. A lot of people write books. Most don’t succeed in getting them published. That’s the goal, but it’s far from the reason I write. I’d write even if I knew I’d never get anything published. Still, the idea of actually sending out proposals kind of makes me want to hide underneath the bed.

That’s not a metaphor. It looks cozy under there.

But that’s all the more reason to do it. (Send out the proposals, not hide.) The things that scare us should not drive us. That’s not who I am, and not who I want to be. Fear be damned, I’ll try, even if I end up failing.

Why share all of this? Because a couple of weeks ago I told you to face your fears. I felt it only fair that I let you know I have fears, too. I plan to face them. Feel free to hold me accountable.

About Ash Martin
Ash Martin writes dark fantasy and horror, has a thing for classic monster legends, Nordic mythology, coffee, and sarcasm, and is currently working on multiple books.

9 Responses to the scary part

  1. dumanae says:

    I know you can do it. What kind of book is it urban magic,scifi,horror, or fantasy?
    keep me posted.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. dumanae says:

    Libriomancy by Jim C Hines

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You have so got this. I can feel it. What an exciting post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

