thankful

On WritingI can’t speak for all writers, but I know sometimes I can be a fairly self-centered person. I don’t mean to be, but writing is hard. It’s ridiculously easy to fixate on that, and on my stories, and forget that there are others who make immeasurable contributions to the fiction I produce.

Like Nimue.

Nimue is my wife. (No, ‘Nimue’ is not her given name. It’s what I call her here. If you’re interested in why I chose to call her that, look it up on Wikipedia.)

Almost three years ago, she and I decided we had the means and life situation to allow me to write full time. I’mย busy with 4 book projects of my own, and I also do freelance work to bring in some cash. But during this time, Nimue has kept her nine-to-five job and made the majority of the financial contributions to our household.

I am more thankful that I could put into words for the gift she’s given me.

I love writing. I love being free and clear of the rat race. I love working from home with the cats nearby. I love my daily schedule.

And I could have none of it without her.

While her contributions to me as a writer are considerable, there have been others, too. Friends who’ve read my work and given much needed feedback. Teachers and professors who expressed faith in me. Readers who comment on my posts, which is more encouraging than you’d think. So many people who’ve done so very much to help me be a writer.

Thank you to all of them.

There are, I’m certain, people in your life who enable your writing in all kinds of ways. This time of year is perfect for making the rounds and telling some of them how much their support means to you. Don’t hold back. Don’t put it off. Don’t wait. Take the time this week, even with the hustle and bustle of a busy holiday weekend on the horizon, to let them know you appreciate the ways they’ve encouraged and helped you.

I couldn’t do what I do without others. I want them to know I appreciate it. I encourage you to do the same.

About Ash Martin
Ash Martin writes dark fantasy and horror, has a thing for classic monster legends, Nordic mythology, coffee, and sarcasm, and is currently working on multiple books.

7 Responses to thankful

  1. tristdagon says:

    Beautifully written. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. P. C. Zick says:

    Thank you for writing this post, Dex. I’ve been down lately about my writing life, but I realize, I’ve also been given a wonderful gift by my husband. Beautiful job.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I hope we all have something and someone to be thankful for. I also hopes your wife reads your blog! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

