gray matter

I did not come up with the image below. In fact, I don’t even recall where I came across it. I only know I’ve had it tucked away in a folder on my PC for a while now with the intention of one day sharing it here.

Today is evidently that day.

One of the more interesting points it makes is this:

“…writers have the ultimate power to influence others. With a powerful and evocative story you can activate your reader’s brains and make them feel like they are experiencing it first-hand, influencing the emotions you want them to feel.”

That’s just one of the little gems packed away in this illustration. I apologize for the fact that it’s a hair blury. Hopefully you can still read it all easily enough. It’s certainly worth it.

If there’s something there that really resonates with you, tell me about it in the comments.

amazing-facts-about-writing-and-the-brain-640x2255

About Ash Martin
Ash Martin writes dark fantasy and horror, has a thing for classic monster legends, Nordic mythology, coffee, and sarcasm, and is currently working on multiple books.

2 Responses to gray matter

  1. diannegray says:

    This is great stuff, Dex. I agree that writing has the same effect on the brain as meditating because I often find I move into a ‘zone’ when i’m writing 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

