brilliant and insightful

On WritingI love it when I come across something so well articulated that I wish I’d written it. Well, I love it and I hate it. The petty, childish part of me feels somehow cheated, which is silly and nonsensical but true nevertheless. However, a more mature part of me wins out the vast majority of the time and cheers my fellow writer on.

Such is the case today.

Cynthia Robertson has crafted some thoughts on the concept of “writing what you know” that are worth reading. I don’t even have much of anything to add, she did her part so well. Instead, I’m going to point you to her site and nudge you to go check it out.

And by ‘nudge’, I mean glare at you via the internet until you click through and read her stuff. It’s good. Damn good. Go read it. Now.

The Real (Secret) Meaning of “Write What You Know”
Cynthia Robertson  |  cynthiarobertson.wordpress.com

As a young writer I never fully understood the advice write what you know. Like a lot of others, I assumed it meant that I should write about only those activities I’d personally taken part in, and not about those I hadn’t. Not surprisingly, my early stories were filled with characters who had crappy jobs and went to a lot of parties, backpacked, fished and rode horses. (They still do have characters who ride horses.)

But what, I wondered, about the writer who wanted to write about characters having sword fights, dying of plague, or being sold into slavery? Or hey, how about walking on the moon?

Happily, ‘write what you know’ doesn’t really mean that we should only write about being an astronaut if we’ve actually been one…

Read more…

About Ash Martin
Ash Martin writes dark fantasy and horror, has a thing for classic monster legends, Nordic mythology, coffee, and sarcasm, and is currently working on multiple books.

3 Responses to brilliant and insightful

  1. Awww, thanks. I’m blushing, but grinning too. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Yes, you’re right. Thank you for Sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

