good books

Good Books

I’ll tell you what I love about that quote: it cuts both ways.

Art should better the artist and the audience. If your work as a writer doesn’t enhance your life, then why do it? And if the things you read don’t entertain, challenge or inspire, why bother reading them?

To that end, I’m inclined to agree with Walker. You can only write what’s inside you. But, I’ll take her argument one step further: I’m not sure a bad person can truly appreciate a good book. What we speak and what we hear depends a great deal on who we are. Granted, I’m talking in sweeping, simplistic generalizations, but bad people tend to say and hear bad things. Good people tend to say and hear good things.

Of course, those of you who are smart asses are likely to point out that I write horror. What does this standard say about me? Nothing bad, in my opinion. Writing horror (even of the dark and twisted variety) isn’t ‘bad’. Horror serves a purpose. It can most certainly be art. (If you don’t believe me, read Clive Barker‘s Books of Blood. I challenge you to argue that those stories, while gory and haunting, aren’t also poetic.) It’s not the content of our tales that determines their worth–it’s the message. Always the message.

What books are you drawn to? What themes and universal truths do they speak to? Also, take some time to look over your own work. What does it say about you?

Oh, and buckle up, bucko. That’s deep introspection land I just sent you to. You’ll learn a lot about yourself.

About Ash Martin
Ash Martin writes dark fantasy and horror, has a thing for classic monster legends, Nordic mythology, coffee, and sarcasm, and is currently working on multiple books.

7 Responses to good books

  1. That’s such a good quote.
    Books of Blood is on my shelf. Has been for years. Every now and then I reread one of the stories, just for inspiration. My fav (okay, maybe I can’t really choose a fav) is The Yattering and Jack. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. P. C. Zick says:

    Amazing quote. I ponder whether I do good with my writing on a daily basis.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I write about ice cream and how great my nails are looking these days. Enough said. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Perception is reality and art is left to interpretation. It will be nothing more to you, than what you make of it. A humbling thought when it comes to putting our own work out there.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

