painfully pragmatic, part 2

LibreOffice

Last week, it was keyboards. This week, word processors.

Personally, I use Microsoft Word 2013. It’s the standard, and it’s a powerhouse of a program. Since I do freelance writing in addition to my fiction, it’s also kind of necessary. I’ve yet to write for even one client who didn’t expect copy to be delivered in the Word format (.doc/.docx).

That said, if I weren’t doing freelance work, as well, I would most likely use LibreOffice. Not that I’m unhappy with Word. Far from it. It’s just that the Microsoft Office Suite isn’t cheap, where as LibreOffice is–get ready for it–free.

If you used Word 2003, LibreOffice’s Writer (their word processing app) will look very familiar to you. It’s almost identical. No, some of the newest bells and whistles aren’t there, but if you’re focused on fiction, you probably don’t care. In fact, for more than a year I used Writer for my fiction and Word for my freelance work. Eventually, I got tired of different menus and formats and took everything back to Word, but Writer is good enough (and customizable enough) that it was my fiction writing tool of choice for a while.

While Writer will save files in the .doc/.docx format, be warned–when opened in Word, some of the formatting may change. That said, if you don’t need the Word formatting, don’t pay for Microsoft Office. Download LibreOffice for free!

About Ash Martin
Ash Martin writes dark fantasy and horror, has a thing for classic monster legends, Nordic mythology, coffee, and sarcasm, and is currently working on multiple books.

4 Responses to painfully pragmatic, part 2

  1. P. C. Zick says:

    I learn so much from you, Dex!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Ack. No techy bones in my body. I stick with what I know…and what my husband installs on my laptop. LOL. I use Word and I don’t even know what version it is.

    I’m one of those annoying people who knows nothing about the tools she uses to fulfill her passion. If it works, I’m good. Ignorant, I know.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

