the craft of short story writing

I’ve heard a lot of writers bemoan the fact that they’re only writing short stories. They speak as though the short story is the lesser, not-as-sophisticated cousin of the novel. I’ve made that complaint, myself.

But the short story is a valid form of fiction, and one that’s even challenging in it’s own right. Just because a novel is longer certainly doesn’t mean it’s better.

Don’t want to take my word for it? How about Stephen King’s word?

Take a look at the video below. The interviewer is about as dry and boring as I can imagine an interviewer being, so forgive that. (Perhaps he’s just intimated. I would be, sitting across from SK.) However, King talks about the craft of short story writing and why he believes it’s valuable.

About Ash Martin
Ash Martin writes dark fantasy and horror, has a thing for classic monster legends, Nordic mythology, coffee, and sarcasm, and is currently working on multiple books.

4 Responses to the craft of short story writing

  1. LOVE this. Tweeted and shared on my Hazy fb page. :))

    Liked by 1 person

    • dex says:

      Thank you, thank you. I’m a big fan of short stories, and I don’t think the format is going anywhere. I would love for them to be more accepted/praised in the mainstream, but at the same time I feel a bit like a rebel writing them.

      Feeling like a rebel is good, especially when it comes to fiction.

      Like

  2. P. C. Zick says:

    I am in awe of the short story writer, Dex. It’s a form I’ve dabbled with but never excelled in the craft. Very happy to see support for it here!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

