the reason

On WritingA few weeks back, a friend of mine said the following in response to some tragic news:

I’m not sure I believe things always happen for a reason, but they happen anyway, and we may as well try to make something good come of them.

Here’s what I said back:

I’m not sure things happen for a reason, either…unless we create the reason, either by rationalizing shit, or by finding a way to create something good out of something tragic.

One of the things I love about fiction is that it provides us with an opportunity to create reason. The world is filled with all manner of stuff–endless tragedy and breath-taking triumph. Sometimes, the tragic is hard to deal with. Fiction is an effective vehicle for tackling it, though.

I just started work on another draft of yet another book. (That brings my ‘in progress’ count up to an insane 4. I’m a nut.) This most recent addition is deeply personal. The main character is dealing with things I’ve dealt with, myself. Tragedy without reason, really. But maybe…just maybe…if I can take my own journey and spin it into a relate-able tale, others will find something of value in it. Perhaps they’ll hear the truth I’ve spent years chancing down. Maybe it will encourage someone, just knowing they aren’t alone. Or, maybe the story is just for me, and it will enable me to push past the last of my own baggage.

Any of those outcomes is beauty born of pain, if you ask me.

My point? Use your fiction. Use it to explore, to resolve, to work through, to redo. Fiction is powerful, both for the reader and for the writer. Don’t miss out on that power. Harness it.

About Ash Martin
Ash Martin writes dark fantasy and horror, has a thing for classic monster legends, Nordic mythology, coffee, and sarcasm, and is currently working on multiple books.

5 Responses to the reason

  1. diannegray says:

    This is so true, Dex. In all my stories there is a touch of something that has happened to me and it’s a great way to figure out reasons and actions 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Absolutely. First, I love your acknowledgement that as writers, WE can have control with what happens. Good or bad. And yes, the best authors use ‘stuff’ within their own lives, tweaked, for sure, and hidden in a different gender maybe, and hair style. But we do write of what we know.

    Like

  3. You’re a nut – Agreed. ;0)

    I’m glad you’ve found a way to put your experience(s) to use. You will only win from it in the end.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

