never too late

Never Too Late

Sometimes I think about all the years I’ve spent saying I want to be a writer but not writing. It’s tragic, reflecting on those times. Maybe I could have penned my first novel decades ago. Maybe I should have.

But time is a persistent soldier. It marches on, our goals, dreams and desires be damned.

Here’s the thing, though: it’s never too late. So I didn’t land my first real writing gig when I was 20. So what? I can’t change that. I can only learn from it and move forward. I can only resolve that today I will write. Today, I will seek to fulfill my dreams. Today, I will do better.

It’s painfully easy to get stuck. Ruts are funny that way. But what is a rut? It’s a groove in the road. That’s it. Just a groove. Not a deep chasm. Not a bottomless pit. Hell, it’s even on the road. If you’re stuck in a rut, you’re in the right place! You’re just not moving.

If you’re stuck, don’t stay that way. Get out of the rut. Get to writing…or whatever else it is that you want to be doing but aren’t. You can’t rewind the period of your life you spent not chasing your dreams, but that’s okay. You can make it a point to start chasing them now.

Hop to it, bucko. Your dreams are on the move. Go after ’em.

About Ash Martin
Ash Martin writes dark fantasy and horror, has a thing for classic monster legends, Nordic mythology, coffee, and sarcasm, and is currently working on multiple books.

2 Responses to never too late

  1. I’ve been saying I want to be a writer since I was about 16. Now, I did write back then. Enough. Enough to prove I wasn’t ready. I shrivel when flipping through my old notebooks, but, I gotta say-there was something there. A spark.

    Things just ignite when they’re meant to.

    Great post. (And, I’m so glad you’re finally on fire!) Ha ha!

    Liked by 1 person

    • dex says:

      “I shrivel when flipping through my old notebooks, but, I gotta say-there was something there. A spark.”

      Same here. There’s some embarrassingly bad stuff in my old journals, with an occasional glimpse of hope.

      Like

Leave a Reply

