sweet, bitter, challenging, beautiful

On WritingI don’t even know what to call this. It’s almost a repost of a repost, but not really.

History. Context. You need some kind of explanation.

Okay, so my writing buddy, Hazy, recently hosted a post by another talented writer, Francis Guenette. It’s so worth reading, so I’m linking to it below.

Normally when I repost something, I don’t include the best part because I want to encourage you to click through and actually read the original. In this case, I’m making an exception because the best part is so good I can’t help it.

In exploring the writing process, Guenette said the following:

“No matter what you’re trying to create – if you’re not scared you’re not really doing it.”

Roll around in that sentence for a bit. Try to soak up all the sweet, bitter, challenging, beautiful truth of it. It’s an amazing insight that every writer should embrace.

And then, when you’re done wrapping your brain around that, click through and read the rest of the post. Be sure to check out both Hazy’s and Guenette’s sites, too. They regularly feature such incredible little gems.

Hazy’s Hosting!
Hazy Shades of Me hazyshadesofme.com

I am thrilled to host a fellow writer today who has been, not only a steady flowing fountain of furtherment, but a creative character with a reliable routine. Her name is Francis Guenette and she is, by George, a Canadian Author Extraordinaire.

Read more…

About Ash Martin
Ash Martin writes dark fantasy and horror, has a thing for classic monster legends, Nordic mythology, coffee, and sarcasm, and is currently working on multiple books.

7 Responses to sweet, bitter, challenging, beautiful

  1. Hey! Didn’t even know you’d reblogged…???… this! Thank you from me! I’m going to repost this repost of a repost. ;-P

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Reblogged this on hazyshadesofme and commented:
    Resurfacing, thanks to dex raven…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nothing wrong with repeats Hazy, especially yours!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hey – thanks so much for reviving this, Dex. And for your kind words. That quote about being scared when you create resonates with me now as I’m deep into writing on my current work-in-progress and I swing between wild exhilaration and an intense desire to smash on the delete key, over and over. Ya, creativity and fear – I’m all over that one.

    Liked by 1 person

    • dex says:

      You’re very welcome. Thank you for putting the idea into words so well. I’m a big believer that if you’re not at least a little afraid when writing, you’re doing it wrong.

      Like

Leave a Reply

