absurdly practical

I have no idea what your writing set up is. Most of the time, I write at my desk in my home office, though sometimes I write on a laptop at a coffee shop. Once in a blue moon, I revert to pen and paper just because I like the feel of it. Whatever your writing set up, you really should give some thought to ergonomics.

Wait, what? Seriously, Dex? Ergonomics?

Yes, seriously, dear reader. Look if you’re going to be spending significant amounts of time at a computer, you shouldn’t finish off your writing sessions looking and feeling like the hunchback of Notre Dame. It may seem annoyingly practical, but it’s important.

In that vein, here’s a brief and easy to understand video showing what makes for a good computer set-up. Take a few minutes to fine-tune your office, if needed. You’re neck and back will thank you for it.

About Ash Martin
Ash Martin writes dark fantasy and horror, has a thing for classic monster legends, Nordic mythology, coffee, and sarcasm, and is currently working on multiple books.

4 Responses to absurdly practical

  1. S. C. Green says:

    I hear you am already starting to feel the regular pain of poor posture. I’m currently looking into a standing desk for at home, and while at a coffee shop, I skip over the plush seating and go for a straight-backed chair. Glad I’m not the only one thinking about this.

    Like

  2. Considering the ergonomics of your writing space is definitely a big deal to keep you writing comfortably for the long term. I have problems with my wrists and fingers all the time and try out new setups all the time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

