escape

Read to Escape

When I was a teenager, my family life blew up. In fairness, it wasn’t perfect prior to that point, but there were some things I believed to be true that proved to be entirely false seemingly overnight. There were people I put trust in who ended up letting me down in huge ways. Everything that felt stable one day was shaky the next.

It sucked.

Before that period, I hadn’t ever really gotten into reading. As a younger kid, I hated it. Book reports were among my least favorite assignments, and it wasn’t the reporting part that bothered me. It was the reading. I just didn’t enjoy it. But when everything went to shit at home, somehow I ended up turning to books to escape. It sounds melodramatic to say it, but reading saved my life in many ways. It saved my sanity, for starters. It gave me an outlet at a time when I sorely needed one. A healthy outlet. And it gave me hope.

As I’ve said before, good writers read. Partly that’s true because like any artist, a good writer is a student of his/her craft, but it should be true for more reasons than that. A good writer shouldn’t just study the written word. A good writer should understand the power of it from personal experience, as well.

When you’re in the middle of your own writing projects, sometimes it’s alarmingly easy to forget to make time to read. Powering down your computer so you can make a cup of coffee and cozy up with a book you’re reading purely for fun seems like slacking off. It’s not. It’s therapeutic and, in many ways, necessary. It will make you a better writer and a better person. I sincerely believe that.

Make time to read. Read to learn about the writing process. Read to see what’s hot in the world of publishing today. Read for fun, for pleasure and, yes, for escape. It will make everything about the rest of your life, including writing, more manageable.

About Ash Martin
Ash Martin writes dark fantasy and horror, has a thing for classic monster legends, Nordic mythology, coffee, and sarcasm, and is currently working on multiple books.

2 Responses to escape

  1. What a tramatic experience for you as a teen. I’m sorry to hear you had to deal with that. We’re so vulnerable as kids. Glad it led to something lasting and good – in the form of a love for books, at least. The silver lining to an otherwise crappy time.
    Your writing is excellent, and I’m sure it’s as a result. As hard as it is to accept that everything has a reason, maybe…?

    Like

    • dex says:

      Maybe so. We are the culmination of all our past experiences, right? Whatever the case, I’m glad I fell in love with books! Oh, and thank you for the compliment. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

