prove them wrong

Prove Them Wrong

Not long after I started working on the novel I recently finished the first draft of, I told a friend I was making a go of becoming a published writer. He responded by politely but frankly pointing out that a lot of people write novels and relatively few of them actually get published. Fewer still go on to make a career out of writing fiction.

I don’t think he said it to burst my bubble. He wasn’t trying to be mean. He was just telling me something to keep me grounded. And he was right. The chances of my novel actually getting picked up for publication are slim. I mean, I like the story. It’s a book I’d read, and I hope when I’ve slugged my way through the revision process I’ll be able to find an agent and publishing house that feel the same way. That’s my goal, and that’s what I intend to shoot for, but, statistically speaking, there’s a greater chance it won’t happen than it will.

If you start telling friends and family you’re writing, especially if you tell them you’re writing fiction, you’re likely to come across someone who expresses the same sentiment, and they may not do so with as much tact as my friend did. In fact, they may delight in being bubble bursters. If you’re well grounded, you’ll have to do the same thing I did: concede that they are correct. There is a significant chance you won’t fulfill all your publishing dreams.

But you know what I say to that? Fuck it. Prove them wrong.

If you’re going to make it anywhere as a writer, you have to have moxie. You have to have an almost delusional dedication to the importance of your own work. It’s not that publication is the end-all-be-all indication of success, but if that’s your goal don’t let some close-minded nay-sayer steal your dream before you’ve even given it a shot. I sincerely hope that you’re writing for more than money or fame. I hope you derive personal satisfaction from it regardless of whether or not you receive public praise. But I also hope that you have goals and ambitions.

It’s good to be grounded…to a point. But this is fiction we’re talking about. If you were 100% grounded in the concrete of rational thinking, you’d be passionate about technical writing, not creative work. Decide what you want to achieve and go for it.

And if someone tells you you can’t do it, do what I do. Set out to prove them wrong.

About Ash Martin
Ash Martin writes dark fantasy and horror, has a thing for classic monster legends, Nordic mythology, coffee, and sarcasm, and is currently working on multiple books.

2 Responses to prove them wrong

  1. “If you were 100% grounded in the concrete of rational thinking, you’d be passionate about technical writing, not creative work.”

    This!

    Go for it, Dex. Prove them wrong.

    Like

Leave a Reply

