best advice

Best Advice
I suppose it’s strange to use the above quote, given that my Tuesday posts are typically advice of one kind or another.

Well, sort of.

Hopefully, my posts about writing are encouraging and/or challenging–it’s a thin line–both to you and to me. I want to be a voice that urges other writers to keep on writing, to find joy in the craft and to learn, grow, reach, stretch and take risks. I want to help in any way I can, and sometimes that includes sharing what works (or doesn’t work) for me.

But not advice, really. Never that.

GK Chesterton makes a fine point. Advice is worth listening to. It’s worth considering and thinking on. It’s worth the reflection it prompts. But ultimately, no writer should ever take the advice of another and implement it as law. What works for you may not work for me.

It goes without saying (I hope) that the goal is not to rebel against any and all pointers. Some of the things I’ve learned from other writers have been invaluable and have become instrumental parts of my routine. I’ve chunked more advice than I’ve kept, but I have kept some. More to the point, I’ve kept what worked, what felt right for me.

As you head into the new year, potentially with a whole new set of writing goals, consider each piece of advice you’re given. Discard most of it, do the opposite of some of it, and keep the small bit that works for you. That’s my advice, anyway.

[Insert wry grin here.]

About Ash Martin
Ash Martin writes dark fantasy and horror, has a thing for classic monster legends, Nordic mythology, coffee, and sarcasm, and is currently working on multiple books.

Leave a Reply

