looking back

On WritingAs a writer, this has been a big year for me. I’ve completed 2 full manuscripts and have a third very close to finished. All of them need some revision (in other words, I’m not sending them off to agents just yet), but still, it’s nice to look back on 2012 and see the fruits of my labors.

I also promised myself at the beginning of the year that I’d write a piece of flash fiction every week, and I’ve held to that. In fact, it’s been so valuable to me as a writer, I plan to continue it. I’ve learned a lot just by turning to random prompts once a week and pounding out 100-1500 words. That, and it’s fun.

I hope this has been a good year for you, too, and I hope that you’re looking forward to 2013. If you haven’t already, take a few moments to think through your goals. Set some. Make some plans. Decide what you want to get out of the next 365 days and then plot a course to make it happen.

Happy New Year, everyone.

About Ash Martin
Ash Martin writes dark fantasy and horror, has a thing for classic monster legends, Nordic mythology, coffee, and sarcasm, and is currently working on multiple books.

5 Responses to looking back

  1. I didn’t know that’s what it was called, but I suppose that’s what I’ve been doing…”Flash Fiction.” I also feel it’s a wondrous and freeing exercise.

    Good for you for goal setting. I’m too afraid to write mine down!! ;0)

    Like

  2. dex says:

    My favorite thing about the prompts is that they present me with two things:

    1. A starting point. When I first started writing regularly, I didn’t always know what to write about. Having a prompt solves that problem nicely.

    2. A creative challenge. Sometimes I have to bend and twist a bit to meet the criteria of the prompt and stay within the word limit. It’s forced me to write better. I have learned how to create suspense in a limited amount of space, how to conserve words, making every word count, and I have learned a lot about dialogue.

    Beyond that, it’s fun. It mixes up my writing routine, which is really nice when I’m knee-deep in a book project. I never feel any pressure about it–in fact, most of my flash fiction pieces are more or less first drafts. It’s something fun that gets my creative juices going and sometimes develops into more. (Several of them are turning into the beginning places for potential novels, for example.)

    At the end of the day, it’s about what you enjoy. I’ve loved doing them and find them to be extremely helpful while also being fun. I recommend them to other writers all the time. If it ends up being something someone else enjoys, great! If not, we all work differently. I say, do what works for you. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

