NaNoWriMo update: 12,119 words

I have an outline and a rough idea of the story I’m telling in my NaNoWriMo book, but I intentionally left a lot of the details vague. I like character-driven stories, so I wanted any plans I made ahead of time to allow for a lot of room for character-driven plot points. I’ve been curious, as a result, as to what the first unexpected development in the story would be.

Today I found out.

The wild thing about writing this fast is that you can’t slow down enough to debate the next plot point. You have to make a decision, allow for action and go with it. Today’s surprise plot point was a good one, and it made for an exciting day of writing. I’m sure it’s only the first of many surprises for me, and I look forward to the next.

About Ash Martin
Ash Martin writes dark fantasy and horror, has a thing for classic monster legends, Nordic mythology, coffee, and sarcasm, and is currently working on multiple books.

5 Responses to NaNoWriMo update: 12,119 words

  1. Julie says:

    Well done! I just have one question. Why don’t I have you on my buddy list? I’m Heresy over there.

    Like

    • dex says:

      I just added you. (I didn’t even know I could have writing buddies!)

      Anyone else out there I can connect to? šŸ™‚

      Like

      • Julie says:

        Buddies are great because they can be mutual support. I have a tendency to send out nano mail when I see someone hit a big milestone or have a really good day. Also, it’s kind of encouraging to see other people’s bars fill up.

        Like

        • dex says:

          That’s a cool feature. I can’t believe I’m 24% done! And you…you’re a writing beast. Keep it up! šŸ™‚

          Like

        • Julie says:

          Thanks, but keep in mind, I’ve had lots of practice, Dex. This is my third official NaNo for 2012 (did both camps too) plus 2 unofficial ones early in the year. I find the speed works for me. It’s the only thing that’s ever let me get a draft finished. Once I have that, it’s down to time and editing/revising.

          Like

Leave a Reply

