NaNoWriMo update: 8,084 words

So far, NaNoWriMo is going well. I’m shooting for 4,000 words a day in the hopes that I won’t have to write a ton the week of Thanksgiving. It’s a lofty goal, but I’ve managed it for two days. If I can keep it up, I’ll finish well ahead of schedule.

It’s a new experience, not editing as I go, but it does allow the story to develop in a chaotically organic way. I’m curious to see how it plays out. Even today, I had to resist the temptation to go back to what I wrote yesterday and tweak it.

Best of luck to my fellow NaNoWriMo writers!

About Ash Martin
Ash Martin writes dark fantasy and horror, has a thing for classic monster legends, Nordic mythology, coffee, and sarcasm, and is currently working on multiple books.

2 Responses to NaNoWriMo update: 8,084 words

  1. S. C. Green says:

    It’s a good idea not to go back and edit while writing, but you could always jot a note down for changes later. Just make sure that note isn’t bigger than what you could fit on a sticky note.

    Like

Leave a Reply

