all kinds

Boy, do I have some mixed feelings about this quote.

Wait. Scratch that. I love the quote. I agree completely with it. In fact, that’s what I try to do when I’m writing fiction. I have mixed feelings about referencing it not because of the content of the quote but because of who said it. See, I’m not a James Patterson fan.

I’ve read a few James Patterson books. They read fast and they were moderately entertaining, but he’s not my cup of tea. His plot lines and, more importantly, his characters simply did not resonate with me.

But here’s the thing: one, who the fuck am I? So I didn’t like his books. So what? Clearly a lot of people do. He’s done something that is really damn hard to do–he’s made a living writing. Good for him. Two, it sounds like he’s an intelligent guy. I mean, if this quote is any indication, he understands a thing or two about story telling. And three, the quote is sublime. It’s sage and wise and well worth reflecting on.

Thanks, James. For the quote and for your stories, even if they aren’t my bag. The world needs all kinds of story tellers. Keep doing your thing.

About Ash Martin
Ash Martin writes dark fantasy and horror, has a thing for classic monster legends, Nordic mythology, coffee, and sarcasm, and is currently working on multiple books.

4 Responses to all kinds

  1. Gus Sanchez says:

    I saw that quote a few months ago and wanted to punch my monitor. He’s a hack who’s made a fortune out of outlining stories and letting others ghost write his crap. That’s why he releases 18 books a year.

    He’s full of shit, and getting advice on writing from him is like getting fitness advice from Paula Deen.

    Like

    • dex says:

      I completely understand where you’re coming from. My first draft of this post was considerably more candid in my assessment of his writing. Ultimately I decided to limit my criticism to “he’s not my cup of tea” for three reasons:

      1. There might be someone who reads this blog who is an avid James Patterson fan. I mean, yeah, it’s doubtful, but it’s possible. (The last time I went after another writer full force, I ended up in the middle of an internet war I really didn’t want any part of. I didn’t blog after that for weeks. I have no desire to repeat it.)

      2. I’m not God’s gift to literature. If someone else doesn’t care for my stuff, I’d prefer they go easy on me.

      3. Who’s to say what is great writing and what isn’t? It’s fairly subjective. Yes, he pumps out a lot of books. Yes, they don’t strike me as high-brow literature. But people read them. And I’d rather people read a Patterson book than nothing. At least they’re reading.

      Besides, just because I don’t like something doesn’t make it “bad”.

      All that to say, I totally get where you’re coming from, even if I elect to limit my comments on his writing.

      Like

Leave a Reply

