is writing meditation?

*The following (both the quote and the reflection afterward) is being reblogged with permission. You can find the original post here.

Both writing and meditation are ways to expand and enrich time. In meditation, we learn to examine our thoughts and feelings from a new perspective, to watch the river of our consciousness flow by, observing it but not attaching ourselves to it. We train ourselves to have a meta-consciousness that observes ourselves observing, and that enlarges moments into infinity. In writing, we also develop that meta-consciousness. We experience our lives as lived events, but also as material to be carefully examined later for richness and meaning. Just as meditation makes life more aware and joyous, so writing allows us to live more deeply and fully. Both involved the sanctification of time.

— Mary Pipher, Writing to Change the World

I agree with Mary. To me writing takes me out of myself, where I become the performer and the observer at the same time– a part of me writes, the other observes– and when I come out of it, it is indeed like falling out of a meditative trance. This does not happen all the time– and nowadays takes the effort of visiting cafés –my monkey mind needs to be pandered to before it would settle down– whether it is to writing, or meditation!

So, is writing a meditation for you?

About Ash Martin
Ash Martin writes dark fantasy and horror, has a thing for classic monster legends, Nordic mythology, coffee, and sarcasm, and is currently working on multiple books.

5 Responses to is writing meditation?

  1. ahamin says:

    I believe everything that isolates you from your world is meditation, so yes, writing is a very good form of meditation, and we should do more of it.

    Like

  2. S. C. Green says:

    I definitely see the similarities there. In both instances I feel refreshed and alive when I have a good session of either.

    Like

    • dex says:

      I feel much the same way. Years ago, a friend of mine observed that writing is therapeutic to me. He told me, kindly, that I seem more well balanced and at peace when I’m writing, whereas when I don’t write for a while I seem more on edge. Call it meditation or therapy–I write because I have to. It makes my life better.

      Like

Leave a Reply

