resolved

I’m resolved to write more consistently this year.

The honest truth about the past year, the one we just laid to rest last night, is that I thought a lot about writing but I only occasionally did it. I read a lot, which is a good thing. Writers should be readers. But I thought too much about the challenges of crafting words without engaging in the art. I observed but didn’t participate. It wasn’t my intent and I admit it here with some frustration and a little shame.

Shame because I’ve made this confession before and sworn off the laziness and fear that keeps me from story telling only to be sucking into writer’s paralysis by it again and again. Nothing sucks quite like habitual sin. And that is a sin–to have a gift and not use it. To have a voice and stay quiet. To have a story worth telling and keep it to yourself.

My apologies.

But that’s the great thing about New Year’s Day. It represents the perpetual opportunities we have to change things we don’t like, including our own choices and actions. I didn’t write enough last year. Best not to dwell on it but rather to enter into this year resolved to write more.

About Ash Martin
Ash Martin writes dark fantasy and horror, has a thing for classic monster legends, Nordic mythology, coffee, and sarcasm, and is currently working on multiple books.

Leave a Reply

