starbucks

Right now I’m wondering if the Starbucks I’m in is actually closer to the sun. It’s hot in here. I’d say “hotter than hell” but, one, I hate that particular cliche. It’s so tired and worn and, consequently, pointless. Two, being pointless, it fails to communicate. It’s hotter in here than it should be in a Starbucks. Ever.

In spite of that, I’m drinking coffee. Not iced coffee. Not a frappuccino. Coffee. A big fucking hot cup of it. I’m breaking a mild sweat and, frankly, I don’t care. People toil every day in far worse environments. I can write for a while here.

And yeah, I write at Starbucks. I laughed (just like you) when I saw the Family Guy episode mocking the idea of writing at a Starbucks just so people would see you writing. For someone who abhors the cliche, color me a hypocrite. I read some article on Lifehacker a couple of months ago that suggested that coffee shops tend to be good places to work and write because they provide just the right amount of ambient noise to make you feel like stuff is happening all around you without being distracting.

I told my friends about that article. I spoke of it like was some kind of validation of what I do. I was Pooh and that article was my Piglet, there to keep me company while I sighed and muttered, “Oh, bother…”

Kind of pathetic and silly, in retrospect.

Starbucks is my writing home. I like it here. In fact, I like it so much that the gloves are coming off. If you don’t like it, that’s fine. If you think it’s silly to whip out an iPad or a laptop in public, then hole yourself up at home and peck away on your keyboard in private. I like the bustle. I like the people coming and going. I even like the heat. This is a place where I get shit done.

Whatever your craft, whatever your passion, don’t think twice about what others think of it. No matter if they don’t understand it, or if they think you’re doing it wrong, or if they think it’s a pure waste of time. If it works for you, makes you happy and leaves you feeling like you’ve done something worth while, then you go right ahead. Don’t even worry yourself with the time it would take to mutter “fuck you” to the bastards. Ignore them. Do what makes you feel whole.

About Ash Martin
Ash Martin writes dark fantasy and horror, has a thing for classic monster legends, Nordic mythology, coffee, and sarcasm, and is currently working on multiple books.

2 Responses to starbucks

  1. You are absolutely right about ignoring them and doing what makes you feel whole. It is a waste of time to worry about those bastards! Thanks for writing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

