writing: you’re doing it wrong

I caught a brief article on Amanda Hocking today on Gizmodo. It irritated me. Not that she’s successful, hell no. It irritated me because I know the score. I can write this book I’ve been lazily plugging away at. I have publishable shit sitting in folders, 1-2 drafts away from a final draft, just waiting for me to polish the last few bits and send it out into the world.

I know saying this could come across as cocky. I don’t mean it to. I just know I can write. I’m not Hemingway or Salinger or even King or Rowling, but I know I can tell a good story. Good enough that folks would pay to read them.

So the article in Gizmodo (please, pause now and read it if you have not. I’m not going to summarize it for you) pissed me off, like I said. But not at her or at Gizmodo or the world. It fueled an anger directed at a single point–me. It upset me because the only reason I’m not currently selling books on Amazon is that I haven’t written mine yet.

Granted, I could finish my novel, it could be great and there could still be no audience. It isn’t that she makes millions (yeah, millions. Seriously, follow the link and read the article)–it’s that I want to complete the work. I want to know I wrote a book. And then two. And then three. You get the idea. If they sell, great. If they don’t, fine. Really.

But what is not fine is my not writing them. That’s chicken-shit. Not fine at all.

About Ash Martin
Ash Martin writes dark fantasy and horror, has a thing for classic monster legends, Nordic mythology, coffee, and sarcasm, and is currently working on multiple books.

7 Responses to writing: you’re doing it wrong

  1. Amy McLane says:

    I’ve read Hocking’s story elsewhere, and yeah, as a 31-year-old lady, it filled me with sweet, delicious jealousy. As does the story of Stephanie Meyers. I admit it. Yeah, I do.

    What I mean to say is, I know what you’re saying. I know I can write–for me it’s getting over actually submitting things. Oh the fear.

    BUT- I also know that YOU can write. So fucking write, please! Do whatever you need to do to con yourself into it. Just do it.

    And if you ever want a beta, holla at the PLC.

    Like

    • dex says:

      Amy, thank you. Seriously, that was the kindest kick in the ass I’ve ever gotten, and it means a great deal to me to hear another competent writer tell me that I can, in fact, write. I really appreciate it.

      Like

  2. Blot says:

    I found your blog just a short while back and I don’t think I’ll be forgetting it any time soon. You can Definitely write, and you seem much more disciplined than most. There is No Conceivable Reason why you shouldn’t be writing more.

    Wish I had your level of motivation. Or Violet. I put too much faith in Inspiration, so it’s been a few years since I wrote anything serious, and I’m feeling the need to make up for it.

    Anyway. Good luck with your book!

    Like

    • dex says:

      Thanks for your kind words. I appreciate it greatly. (And Violet appreciates the nod.)

      Get back into the writing game if you feel so compelled. I find that I need it…and that, as simple as it is, is why I write. A lot of people are wired that way. Perhaps you’re one of us. We’re a strange crew, but we have fun creating our own little worlds.

      Best of luck to you in whatever you do!

      Like

  3. Pingback: not a fan « dex★raven

  4. Pingback: Amanda Hocking & DexRaven « not very alice

  5. Pingback: Amanda Hocking & DexRaven – Part 2 « not very alice

Leave a Reply

