resolutions

It’s been way too long since I’ve written. (Point of fact: my last blog post almost two months ago stated the very same thing.) I have no excuse. Not a real one, anyway. Like so many bloggers, you write for a bit, suspect that no one is actually reading and kind of drift away. But, I’ve had two folks recently ask me if I’m still writing and comment that my blog has been abandoned.

Apparently someone was reading after all.

So I feel that it is time to come back to this blog, start pounding away at the 500 Club posts again, start sharing the writing journey again and generally just, you know, act authorly.

I have actually written some in my absence. I recently submitted a short story for a contest. If it wins, it’ll be published and that would be cool. Cooler still is the fact that I really enjoyed writing it and feel good about what it says and how it reads. If I don’t win that particular contest, I plan to seek out publication through other venues. I think it’s a story worth reading and I’d really like to share it.

Not much progress has been made on the novel lately. I have, admittedly, slacked there. But the great thing about failure is that there is another chance to do better coming around the bend just about all the time. So I’ll just pick up where I left off and get that thing written.

That’s me in a nutshell. Exciting stuff, I know. But not to fear, kids–there’ll be more to come soon. Till then, happy holidays.

About Ash Martin
Ash Martin writes dark fantasy and horror, has a thing for classic monster legends, Nordic mythology, coffee, and sarcasm, and is currently working on multiple books.

4 Responses to resolutions

  1. S. C. Green says:

    Happy to see you posting again. Hold on to the momentum and good luck with your submissions.

    Like

    • dex says:

      Thanks!

      As a writer yourself I’m sure you understand, but it truly does floor me to see people still checking out my blog after weeks of not posting. Floor me and make me feel good.

      Like

  2. So glad to see a new post, Dex! Here’s hoping you win the contest (unless it’s the same one I entered, and then I hope you win second place, LOL!), and here’s hoping you continue to write all through 2011.

    Cheering you on. 🙂

    Like

  3. dex says:

    Thanks, Amy! I really appreciate the encouragement.

    Like

Leave a Reply

