all about vye

I’ve mentioned Violet (or Vye for short; rhymes with “dye”) and it’s about time I gave her a proper introduction. Though, to be honest, the what-the-fuck responses I’ve gotten to calling out my muse by name have entertained me. And her.

According to Wikipedia, “The Muses in Greek mythology, poetry, and literature are the goddesses or spirits who inspire the creation of literature and the arts. They were considered the source of the knowledge…that was contained in poetic lyrics and myths.” Or, as dictionary.com puts it, a muse is “a goddess that inspires a creative artist.”

Muses, according to myth and legend, are mystical beings. They are the soft voices inside our heads that we typically call inspiration. When they whisper, we dream.

My muse’s name is Violet. She is not one of the classical muses, not one of the nine daughters of Zeus, at least not as far as she’s told me. She’s something of a quiet spirit unless you get to know her, which I have, and then you discover that the girl can talk. Sometimes she doesn’t even seem to be breathing, she prattles on so quickly. Other times she will go days or weeks without uttering a single word.

I would call her flighty, but that’s not really fair. She is what she is. Muses can’t always be inspiring. Sometimes artists just have to work for their craft. But as partners go, she more than pulls her share. When I’m on, I mean really on, she’s right there with me helping me to navigate the pell-mell landscape of my own fiction as though she’s lived there all her life.

If you’ve bothered to read the “about” section of this blog, or if you know me beyond these blog posts, you already know that I, myself, go by several names. Dex is merely one of them. (Note that I am not saying “Dex Raven” is a pen name. It would be more accurate to say that most of the people who think they know me, calling me some other name, would know me a great deal better if they met me as Dex.) Given this odd truth, you may well wonder about this Violet stuff. Is she real? Is he just pulling my leg? He doesn’t actually believe in goddesses, does he?

In answer to those questions, I’ll simply say this: I write fiction, and more specifically fantasy fiction, because I not only want to believe in a world in which magic really happens—I do believe in it.

And what a loss if magic is real and goddesses aren’t.

Oh, and Violet insists that I say hi on her behalf. She’s pleased to meet you all.

About Ash Martin
Ash Martin writes dark fantasy and horror, has a thing for classic monster legends, Nordic mythology, coffee, and sarcasm, and is currently working on multiple books.

3 Responses to all about vye

  1. JoshLud says:

    Beautiful. Muses are hard to come by. Most writers aren’t even aware of their existance, let alone know their name. I don’t have a name for mine. He’s pretty shy. It’s nice to see that someone out there is on a personal, professional, and first name basis-level with theirs. Again, beautiful.

    Hello, Vi. Thank you for showing your bashful face and introducing yourself. Don’t ever leave.

    Like

  2. Pingback: The Big Reveal « Live Like a Grownup

Leave a Reply

