writer blocked

It hasn’t happened to me in a while, but it seems to be happening now. Writer’s block. I’m having a hard time with even this short post. It’s like the words all dried up or something. Feel free to insert a far more clever metaphor here. I’m fresh out of originality at the moment.

But I’m still alive and I will be back as soon as Violet (my muse) stops pouting and starts…musing?…again. Hopefully soon.

About Ash Martin
Ash Martin writes dark fantasy and horror, has a thing for classic monster legends, Nordic mythology, coffee, and sarcasm, and is currently working on multiple books.

4 Responses to writer blocked

  1. Sometimes you have to tie your muse to the chair and threaten to rough him up a bit.

    Sometimes you have to ask yourself what you’re afraid of.

    And sometimes you just have to scrub the bathtub and listen to the swishing of the bristles on the porcelain until the words break free.

    Like

    • dex says:

      This is true. The worst, though, is when you sit down resolved to write and you’re staring at the blank screen and…nothing. Nothing comes out. Not even bad writing. Literally no writing.

      And sadly, bad writing is better.

      Like

  2. Have you tried using Write or Die 2.0? You can set it to be as lenient or menacing as you need to get a certain number of words out in a certain amount of time.

    I’m not trying to pester. I know it’s annoying when you’re struggling with writing to have a know-it-all come along and give advice. I just hate to see you lose momentum is all.

    Like

    • dex says:

      I don’t perceive it as pestering. I appreciate the accountability and the encouragement. I will be back to my normal writing schedule next week, whether like it or not. This weekend is booked up, but I’m not giving up! I promise.

      Like

Leave a Reply

