so true

I love this post from Amy Writes…

In Praise of Deadlines, Accountability and Encouragement (via The Parking Lot Confessional)

I love it because it’s true, because I couldn’t have said it better and because it’s hard, sometimes really hard, to hold yourself to your own goals. Myself, I wish I had more accountability. Truth be told, that’s how I ended up trolling the PLC blog all the time. I should probably seek out some writers right here where I live, but I haven’t the foggiest idea where to look. (I suppose I could just walk up to everyone I see at Starbucks with a laptop. Those are serious writers, right? And yes, I sometimes write at Starbucks. Shut up.)

Point is, accountability is key, as is sticking to your goals. Which can be hard. Take tonight, for example. I’m firmly in the grip of writer’s block and not working on the book I really should be working on. I’m writing, yes, and doing things associated, at least marginally, with writing, but I’m not doing what I set out to do. No 2,000 words toward a completed novel tonight and that’s my standard minimum for a writing session.

And now I’m rambling.

Read Amy’s post. It’s sage advice. And please, don’t just walk up to me when I’m writing at Starbucks. Just don’t.

About Ash Martin
Ash Martin writes dark fantasy and horror, has a thing for classic monster legends, Nordic mythology, coffee, and sarcasm, and is currently working on multiple books.

2 Responses to so true

  1. Hi Dex. Thanks for saying nice things about my post. 🙂 I’m glad you liked it. And I gotta say, we’re all glad you troll the PLC, too.

    Did you see this post at Writer Unboxed by JC Hutchins?
    http://writerunboxed.com/2010/07/22/are-you-writing-are-talking-about-writing/

    Good stuff there. Gave me a good kick in the pants when I read it yesterday.

    Like

    • dex says:

      I read the article you suggested, Amy. Wow. He didn’t pull any punches, but I loved it. Thanks for pointing me in that direction!

      Like

Leave a Reply

