count on it

On WritingOn the heels of last week’s post about failure, I give you the flip side of the coin. This immaculately written post is by a friend of mine, and it’s well worth taking the time to click through and read. (The best part, which is amazing, is the last paragraph.)

If you like it, be sure to comment on it over on her blog.

Count On It

I have this old adding machine and for about ten years, the battery cover has been missing. It’s because of this I feel a profound sadness every time I pull it out of the drawer. Without the support, I know it will only be a matter of time before those little coils relax and let the batteries fall to the floor. But it would hurt me to replace a perfectly good thing due simply to the fact that it’s missing a piece. After all, it still works fairly faultlessly and if anyone appreciates a bit of help, it’s me. I can’t add worth a damn. I still count out on my fingers and have to write anything more than a three-digit sum down on paper before the numbers climb, trip and topple over one another in my head.

Read more…

About dex
Dex Raven writes dark fantasy and horror. He has a thing for classic monster legends, Egyptian and Nordic mythology, coffee and sarcasm. He is currently working on four books. You can read the in-progress first draft of one of his novels at ravenspeak.wordpress.com.

2 Responses to count on it

  1. Ha ha! Oh my goodness, it took me a moment to realize it was MY post you were reblogging. As I’m sure you know, being reblogged is under the “Ultimate Compliment” category. I am terribly honoured. Thank you, friend!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 87 other followers

